Research

My research is primarily in the fields of health economic evaluation methods and health policy/program evaluation using quasi-experimental methods. You can find a brief summary of some of the research themes below.

I have published my research in journals such as the Journal of Health Economics, Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Health Economics, Journal of Risk and Uncertainty, Economics of Education Review, Journal of Population Economics, Environmental and Resource Economics, and European Journal of Neurology etc. You can find my full list of publications here.

Current PhD Supervision

I am the main supervisor of four PhD students: Linda Ryen, Naimi Johansson, Sofie Larsson, and Ellen Wolff. I am also co-supervisor for an additional two PhD students: Henrik Djerf and Anna Holst. You can read more about research projects at our group here.

Research Themes

The Value of a Statistical Life

How much resources should we allocate in public policy making in order to (statistically) prevent one death? This is something that we must consider in a large range of public policy decisions, e.g. how much to spend on environmental regulation, infrastructure improvements, and health care and public health programs. Estimates of the value of a statistical life (VSL) is based on the marginal willingness to pay for (small) risk reductions scaled up on a population level. It is well known that there are a large number of empirical challenges in estimating the VSL. I started on my research as a PhD student on topics related to VSL and methodological challenges in empirically estimating VSL. I still do some research related to this issue, but not running any current projects on VSL. My publications on VSL include:

The Value of a QALY

Text

Cost-Effectiveness Analysis and Cost studies

Parallel to my methodological work on (health) economic evaluation methods I am very interested in being part of applied studies of treatment evaluations. Given my interest in the research methods per se, I am involved in applied studies in a large range of medical areas, including cardiovascular, psychiatry, orthopedics etc. I have also been, but nowadays to a lesser degree, involved in decision modeling studies. Publications include:

 

Program Evaluation based on Quasi-Experimental Approaches

Text

Economic Conditions and Health

Text

